jump to navigation

Comment on Verevis Reading October 6, 2009

Posted by kellyparry111 in Uncategorized.
trackback

I made this observation while I was reading and I wanted to see what everyone thought…I’m trying to figure out a good way to say what I’m thinking so here goes…

Why is it that biographers will research the life of a filmmaker? Obviously the personal life of a director impacts filmmaking, but I found the interest in Tarantino’s life especially strong. Would his movies be as valued and analyzed if there were no knowledge of the personal motives behind different characters and themes? Do the life experiences of directors give them the “authority” (page 174) to include fictitious events in films?

Comments»

1. elisemccarthy - October 6, 2009

I think Kelly makes an interesting point here…I think that the background of the director does have an effect on the audiences interest in a director’s film and characters. It almost reminds me of how celebrities are treated. So many people are interested in celebrity lives now that knowing about their lives and backgrounds cause the audience to take more of an interest in the films and shows that they star in. This prior knowledge of a celebrity can also effect how one judges the film that that particular celebrity is in. I don’t think that we as an audience should value a director or celebrity more because of their background, but I think this is a reality in that many people can’t help but to associate knowledge of the director with the themes and characters of his film. I’m not sure if that is what you were trying to say kelly, but your post made me consider this issue too.


Leave a Reply

